Title Yessongs
Artist Yes
Type Live

Track list

Disc 1

  1. Opening (Excerpt from “Firebird Suite”) 3:45
  2. Siberian Khatru 8:50
  3. Heart of the Sunrise 11:26
  4. Perpetual Change 14:08
  5. And You and I 9:55
    1. Cord of Life
    2. Eclipse
    3. The Preacher the Teacher
    4. The Apocalypse
  6. Mood for a Day 2:52
  7. Excerpts from “the Six Wives of Henry VIII” 6:35
  8. Roundabout 8:33

Disc 2

  1. I’ve Seen All Good People 7:00
    1. Your Move
    2. All Good People
  2. Long Distance Runaround / the Fish (Schindleria Praimaturus) 13:45
  3. Close to the Edge 18:41
    1. The Solid Time of Change
    2. Total Mass Retain
    3. I Get Up I Get Down
    4. Seasons of Man
  4. Yours is No Disgrace 14:21
  5. Starship Trooper 9:25
    1. Life Seeker
    2. Disillusion
    3. Würm


About the album

Yessongs is the first live album by Yes, and was released in 1973. It comprises recordings from their world tours in support of both Fragile and Close to the Edge, and is their first album to feature Alan White on drums.

The tracks from the Fragile tour (Long Distance Runaround, The Fish, and Perpetual Change) are the only tracks to feature original drummer, Bill Bruford, who left the band immediately after recording of Close to the Edge was completed. The tour of Close to the Edge saw White on drums, where he was only given days between joining and touring to learn all of the songs.

Opening, as all Yes concerts now do, to an excerpt from Stravinsky’s Firebird Suite, the album also features a passage from The Rite of Spring before a Rick Wakeman medley. Steve Howe and Chris Squire also give extended solo performances, and several songs are extended to almost double the length of their studio recordings.

Review this album

Use the form below to log in and contribute, or join for free.

Log in with a Username

Log in with a username and password

Forgot your password?

Log in with Social Media


There aren’t any reviews yet. Why not be the first to review this album?