Title Union
Artist Yes
Type Studio

Track list

  1. I Would Have Waited Forever 6:32
  2. Shock to the System 5:09
  3. Masquerade 2:18
  4. Lift Me Up 6:30
  5. Without Hope You Cannot Start The Day 5:18
  6. Saving My Heart 4:42
  7. Miracle of Life 7:30
  8. Silent Talking 4:01
  9. The More We Live—Let Go 4:34
  10. Angkor Wat* 5:24
  11. Dangerous (Look In The Light Of What You're Searching For) 3:39
  12. Holding On 5:24
  13. Evensong 0:52
  14. Take The Water To The Mountain* 3:10
  15. Give & Take** 4:29

* Not available on LP edition. ** Only appears on European and Japanese editions.


Supporting credits

  • Alex Lasarenko – Synthesizer, and Keyboard
  • Allan Schwartzberg – Percussion
  • Billy Sherwood – Bass Guitar, Guitars, Keyboards, and Backing Vocals
  • Brian Foraker – Synthesizer
  • Chris Fosdick – Synthesizer
  • Danny Vaughn – Backing Vocals
  • Deborah Anderson – Backing Vocals
  • Gary Barlough – Synthesizer
  • Gary Falcone – Backing Vocals
  • Ian Lloyd – Backing Vocals
  • Jerry Bennett – Synthesizer, and Percussion
  • Jim Crichton – Synthesizer, and Keyboard
  • Jimmy Haun – Guitar
  • Jonathan Elias – Synthesizer, Keyboard, and Backing Vocals
  • Michael Sherwood – Backing Vocals
  • Rory Kaplan – Synthesizer
  • Sherman Foote – Synthesizer
  • Steve Porcaro – Synthesizer
  • Tommy Funderburk – Backing Vocals
  • Tony Levin – Bass Guitar

About the album

Union is the thirteenth studio album by Yes, and was released in 1991. It was their first album to feature Rick Wakeman since he left in early 1980, and Steve Howe, who had departed late in the same year. It is also the first Yes album to feature Bill Bruford since 1972, and the only studio album on which Yes is an octet.

The album was not as commercially successful as previous releases, reaching #7 in the UK charts, and #15 in the US Billboard 200, during a chart stay of 19 weeks. It sold approximately half a million copies worldwide, putting it roughly level with the self-titled album by Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe. The album did, however, spawn a hit single in the form of Lift Me Up, which reached #1 on the US Billboard Album Rock Tracks chart, where it stayed for six weeks.

After the release of Big Generator, Jon Anderson was unhappy with the direction the band was heading, and together with former band members formed Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe (ABWH). Due to the Yes name being partially owned by Chris Squire, this incarnation of the band were unable to call themselves Yes and so took on a name that sounds like a company of solicitors. Meanwhile, the other Yes began composing and recording material for their next album.

Record company pressure was put on both bands to resurrect the Yes banner, so Squire and Anderson came up with the idea of merging both the bands, which resulted in Union.

A great deal of the new ABWH material was reworked under the supervision of producer Jonathan Elias, who replaced much of Howe’s guitar parts with new lines played by session musician Jimmy Haun, and many of Wakeman’s keyboard parts were redone by various session players. During post production, Squire added backing vocals to some of the ABWH tracks, but as bass was added by Tony Levin, this would remain the extent of the reunion.

Lift Me Up, Saving My Heart, and Miracle of Life, were only intended a demos, having be put together hastily by Trevor Rabin, but to his surprise were all given Anderson vocals and released as they were.

The More We Live was the result of writing between Squire and Billy Sherwood, who had previously been considered as the lead vocalist to replace Anderson in the Rabin-led band, and would later join the band as a full member for 1997’s Open Your Eyes. Two other songs penned by this partnership would not appear on Union, but are available on the first Conspiracy album.

Wakeman, Howe, and Bruford departed the band in 1992, leaving Yes with the same lineup as their previous album. Wakeman and Howe would not join the band again until 1995, and Bruford went on to join King Crimson for a second time.

The album cover for Union features a fantasy landscape by Roger Dean, and is the band’s first Dean-produced album cover since 1980.

Review this album

Use the form below to log in and contribute, or join for free.

Log in with a Username

Log in with a username and password

Forgot your password?

Log in with Social Media


There aren’t any reviews yet. Why not be the first to review this album?