The Yes Album

Title The Yes Album
Artist Yes
Type Studio

Track list

  1. Yours Is No Disgrace 9:36
  2. Clap 3:07
  3. Starship Trooper 9:23
    1. Life Seeker
    2. disillution
    3. Würm
  4. I’ve Seen All Good People 6:47
    1. Your Move
    2. All Good People
  5. A Venture 3:13
  6. Perpetual Change 8:50


Supporting credits

  • Colin Goldring – Recorders (4)

About the album

The Yes Album is the third studio album by Yes, and was released in 1971. It is the first album to feature Steve Howe on guitar, who had replaced Peter Banks in 1970. It is also the last album on which keyboardist Tony Kaye was to play until his return in 1983. The album was written and rehearsed in a farmhouse in Devon, which then homed Langley Studios, and was later bought by Howe who turned it into a family home.

Seen as Yes’ breakthrough album, The Yes Album reached #4 in the UK charts and #40 in the US Billboard 200 and has since been certified Platinum by the Recording Industry of America.

The original version of the album credits Jon Anderson as John Anderson, as did the previous two albums, however this is the final album to do so. The track Clap, which was written to celebrate the birth of Howe’s son Dylan, was also incorrectly credited as The Clap. This was later corrected on remastered versions of the album.

The cover for The Yes Album features a photograph of the band and is the only Yes album to do so in the UK. It is also the first of their albums to have the same cover on both sides of the Atlantic. Kaye is shown with a cast of his foot as he was involved in a car accident shortly before the photograph was taken.

Review this album

Use the form below to log in and contribute, or join for free.

Log in with a Username

Log in with a username and password

Forgot your password?

Log in with Social Media


There aren’t any reviews yet. Why not be the first to review this album?