Title Talk
Artist Yes
Type Studio

Track list

  1. The Calling 6:56
  2. I Am Waiting 7:25
  3. Real Love 8:49
  4. State of Play 5:00
  5. Walls 4:57
  6. Where Will You Be 6:09
  7. Endless Dream 15:44
    1. Silent Spring [Instrumental]
    2. Talk
    3. Endless Dream


  • Alan White – Drums
  • Chris Squire – Bass Guitar, and Backing Vocals
  • Jon Anderson – Lead Vocals, and Backing Vocals
  • Tony Kaye – Hammond Organ
  • Trevor Rabin – Electric Guitars, Acoustic Guitars, Keyboards, Programming, Lead Vocals, and Backing Vocals

About the album

Talk is the fourteenth studio by Yes, and was released in 1994. It was the last Yes album to feature Tony Kaye and Trevor Rabin, and was the first to be released on an independent label.

Slated by critics, Talk was the first Yes album to fail to attain Gold status, reaching only #20 in the UK charts and #33 in the US Billboard 200, during a chart stay of only eight weeks. Despite this, the album’s reputation has improved over time, and is now viewed by many to be the best album of the Rabin-era band.

Following the tour for Union, Bill Bruford, Steve Howe, and Rick Wakeman left the band. Wakeman had intended to stay, however conflicts between management stopped this from happening, and he would not return until 1996.

For Talk, Rabin took the lead, both producing the album and writing much of the material himself. He attempted to reintroduce the band to the 1990s with a guitar-driven album, which meant that he was personally involved in creating the core sound for each song on the album. He went as far as replacing many of Chris Squire’s bass lines with his own, and is far more prominent in the vocal mix than Jon Anderson on some of the tracks.

After Anderson formed Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe, Yes had originally intended on replacing him, with one consideration being Roger Hodgson of Supertramp fame. This didn’t come to pass, however Hodgson penned Walls with Rabin and a demo of the song was recorded in 1990. Upon returning to the band, Anderson modified the lyrics, and Walls was recorded for inclusion on Talk.

Following the release of the album, both Rabin and Kaye left the band in 1995. Rabin has since produced a number of soundtracks for films.

The album cover for Talk features a take on the Yes logo by pop artist, Peter Max.

Review this album

Use the form below to log in and contribute, or join for free.

Log in with a Username

Log in with a username and password

Forgot your password?

Log in with Social Media


There aren’t any reviews yet. Why not be the first to review this album?