Open Your Eyes

Title Open Your Eyes
Artist Yes
Type Studio

Track list

  1. New State Of Mind 6:00
  2. Open Your Eyes 5:14
  3. Universal Garden 6:16
  4. No Way We Can Lose 4:56
  5. Fortune Seller 5:00
  6. Man In The Moon 4:41
  7. Wonderlove 6:06
  8. From The Balcony 2:43
  9. Love Shine 4:37
  10. Somehow…Someday 4:47
  11. The Solution 5:25


Supporting credits

  • Igor Khoroshev – Additional Keyboards (1, 4 and 5)
  • Steve Porcaro – Additional Keyboards (2)

About the album

Open Your Eyes is the seventeenth studio album by Yes, and was released in 1997. It was their first album to feature Billy Sherwood on guitar as a fulltime member, and is the only album on which he also plays keyboards.

The album performed poorly on a commercial level, reaching only #151 in the US Billboard 200, and failed to chart at all in the UK. The single Open Your Eyes reached #33 in the US Mainstream Rock chart.

Sherwood was involved with the band as a backup keyboard player and guitarist during the Talk tour, and was also involved with Union. He had also been considered as the new lead singer after Jon Anderson formed Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe, and was involved in the engineering and production of the Keys to Ascension albums. Having worked with Chris Squire on a potential project, which would eventually become Conspiracy, the pair had penned what would eventually form the basis for Open Your Eyes.

Squire, Anderson, Sherwood, and Alan White began working on transforming the early Conspiracy material shortly after Anderson had shown interest in performing vocals for it, but Steve Howe had very little involvement in the writing process, playing on the album almost as a session musician.

In addition to Sherwood, the album also has Steve Porcaro and Igor Khoroshev on keyboards. Khoroshev would later go on to join the band as a full member for 1999’s The Ladder.

Several band members, and fans, have voiced criticism of the album, saying that it lacks some of the Yes trademark sound. Both Anderson and Howe have claimed that the album was rushed into production, so their ideas were not seen to fruition, and the resulting album suffered in the process. The live tour supporting Open Your Eyes saw very little of the material being played, with the band relying on their older hits.

The album cover for Open Your Eyes features Roger Dean’s Yes logo on a stark, black background. This hails back to the band’s 1969 debut, where the cover featured nothing but an early logo, again on a black background.

Review this album

Use the form below to log in and contribute, or join for free.

Log in with a Username

Log in with a username and password

Forgot your password?

Log in with Social Media


There aren’t any reviews yet. Why not be the first to review this album?