Title Fragile
Artist Yes
Type Studio

Track list

  1. Roundabout 8:29
  2. Cans and Brahms 1:35
  3. We Have Heaven 1:30
  4. South Side of the Sky 8:04
  5. Five Per Cent for Nothing 0:35
  6. Long Distance Runaround 3:33
  7. The Fish (Schindleria Praematurus) 2:35
  8. Mood for a Day 2:57
  9. Heart of the Sunrise 10:34


  • Bill Bruford – Drums, and Percussion
  • Chris Squire – Bass Guitar, and Backing Vocals
  • Jon Anderson – Vocals
  • Rick Wakeman – Hammond Organ, Piano, RMI 368 Electra-Piano and Harpsichord, Mellotron, and Moog Synthesizer
  • Steve Howe – Electric Guitars, Acoustic Guitars, and Backing Vocals

About the album

Fragile is the fourth studio album by Yes and was released in 1971. It is also their first album to feature Rick Wakeman on keyboards, following the departure of Tony Kaye, and the first Yes album to have a cover designed by Roger Dean.

The album entered the UK charts at #7, which was the highest position it achieved, and also reached #4 in the US Billboard 200. The release date in the US was held back by two months as their previous album The Yes Album was still charting there. Its best known track Roundabout was released as a single which reached #13 on the US Billboard Pop Singles chart.

Fragile has four tracks on which the entire band are featured, with the remaining five tracks showcasing the individual band members’ talents. Cans and Brahms is a Wakeman arrangement of the third movement from Fourth Symphony in E minor by Brahms, which uses synthesizers to play the classical piece. We have Heaven is comprised of Jon Anderson’s vocals layered over each other. Five Per Cent for Nothing showcases Bill Bruford with instrumental passages formed of rhythm lines. Finally, The Fish (Schindleria Praematurus) and Mood for a Day are Chris Squire and Steve Howe solos, respectively.

The album art for Fragile is their first to be designed by Roger Dean, and features one of his fantasy landscapes with a planet being escaped by a wooden space glider. This image went on to inspire Anderson’s solo album Olias of Sunhillow. It is also the first Yes album to feature their newly-commissioned logo, also designed by Dean.

Review this album

Use the form below to log in and contribute, or join for free.

Log in with a Username

Log in with a username and password

Forgot your password?

Log in with Social Media


There aren’t any reviews yet. Why not be the first to review this album?