Close to the Edge

Title Close to the Edge
Artist Yes
Type Studio

Track list

  1. Close to the Edge 18:50
    1. The Solid Time of Change
    2. Total Mass Retain
    3. I Get Up I Get Down
    4. Seasons of Man
  2. And You And I 10:09
    1. Cord of Life
    2. Eclipse
    3. The Preacher The Teacher
    4. Apocalypse
  3. Siberian Khatru 8:57


About the album

Close to the Edge is the fifth studio album by Yes, and was released in 1972. It is the last album to feature original drummer Bill Bruford until his temporary return during the early 1990s for their Union album and tour.

The album reached #4 on the UK charts, and was in the US Billboard 200 for 32 weeks where it peaked at #3. It is also the only Yes album to reach #1 in the Dutch album charts.

Jon Anderson stated that the title track of the album is based on Hermann Hesse’s book Siddhartha, and follows the spiritual awakening of the main character standing “close to the edge” of a river symbolising his soul. Bruford further explains in his autobiography that he came up with the album title to explain the state of the band, as did the previous album Fragile.

This was the first Yes album to include an epic track taking up one side of the album, and set a trend in following albums towards a single extended track around which the rest of the album is based. Although in this case, the other two tracks on the album are still both well over the four-minute pop standard.

Close to the Edge again features album art by Roger Dean, with the front cover being a green gradient, and the inside featuring another fantasy landscape showing floating islands near the edge of a waterfall.

Review this album

Use the form below to log in and contribute, or join for free.

Log in with a Username

Log in with a username and password

Forgot your password?

Log in with Social Media


There aren’t any reviews yet. Why not be the first to review this album?