Big Generator

Title Big Generator
Artist Yes
Type Studio

Track list

  1. Rhythm of Love 4:49
  2. Big Generator 4:31
  3. Shoot High, Aim Low 6:59
  4. Almost Like Love 4:58
  5. Love Will Find a Way 4:48
  6. Final Eyes 6:20
  7. I’m Running 7:34
  8. Holly Lamb 3:15


  • Alan White – Drums, and Percussion
  • Chris Squire – Bass Guitar, and Backing Vocals
  • Jon Anderson – Lead Vocals, and Backing Vocals
  • Tony Kaye – Keyboards, Organ, Piano, and Synthesizers
  • Trevor Rabin – Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals, Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar, Keyboards, and String Arrangements

Supporting credits

  • Greg Smith – Horns (4)
  • James Zavala – Horns (4) ,and Harmonica (5)
  • Kim Bullard – Keyboard Programming
  • Lee R. Thornberg – Horns (4)
  • Nick Lane – Horns (4)

About the album

Big Generator is the twelfth album by Yes, and was released in 1987. It features the same lineup of musicians as the previous album, 90125.

The album was commercially successful and reached #15 in the US Billboard 200, during a 30 week stay in the chart, and peaked at #17 in the UK charts. It also spawned a number of singles, of which the most successful Love Will Find a Way reached #1 in the US Mainstream Rock chart, with Rhythm of Love peaking at #2 in the same chart.

Big Generator took almost two years to produce, mainly as a result of creative differences within the band. Trevor Rabin wanted to build on the success of 90125, whereas Jon Anderson preferred to take the band back to its more traditional sound. Anderson said of Trevor Horn, who was producing the album, that he asked him to not attend the studio or rehearsals for three months, presumably so that the band could develop their ideas without Anderson.

Horn quit as producer after only a few months, mainly because of his inability to get along with keyboardist Tony Kaye, whom he had also failed to get along with during the 90125 recording sessions. Following this departure, Rabin assumed the role of producer and is credited with putting together the final track list.

Following the release of Big Generator, Anderson was unhappy with the direction the band was going in and began work on other projects, including a reunion with some former Yes band members in the form of Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe.

The album art for Big Generator, like its predecessor, features a computer-generated image, but with different versions for the CD and vinyl editions—the cover used for the CD version is yellow with red writing, and the vinyl edition features a cyan background with purple text.

Review this album

Use the form below to log in and contribute, or join for free.

Log in with a Username

Log in with a username and password

Forgot your password?

Log in with Social Media


There aren’t any reviews yet. Why not be the first to review this album?